You're reading...
Continuous Improvement, Viewpoint!

Stop reviewing, start improving (again!)

Several times in the past few months I have been at meetings with other Consultants. A recurring theme has been the desire to create ‘diagnostic tools’ which will supposedly have clients pulling out their cheque books. This really worries me as the focus seems to be about consultancy income and not about client benefits or improvement.

The most recent conversation reminded me of a blog post I wrote some while ago…
https://ianjseath.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/stop-reviewing-start-improving/

I have seen so many diagnostic tools come and go over the years and I’m afraid the cynic in me says that while they might give an impression of action, they are in fact a substitute for action. And, in some cases, they are a very expensive substitute.

I’d far rather work with a client on ‘doing improvement’ or helping them develop their capability to improve.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Connect with Ian Seath

Find us on Facebook Improvement Skills Consulting Ltd. on LinkedIn Follow IanJSeath on Twitter

Archives

Copyright Notice

© Improvement Skills Consulting Ltd. and Ian Seath, 2007-17. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Improvement Skills Consulting Ltd. and Ian Seath with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
