You're reading...
Facilitation, Viewpoint!

Mindmapping: has its time come?

I’ve always thought Mindmapping was a useful tool and Tony Buzan’s underpinning principles for using them to help improve communication and learning were highly relevant to the business world.  It’s just that I could never really see how it could succeed in a live workshop environment.  I’d really only ever used them “solo”, for exam revision and for planning (articles, training materials etc.).

Even with Mindmapping software available on PCs and Macs, I’ve never felt it’s ideal for use in workshop environments.

But, I have to say, Mindmapping on the ipad potentially changes all that.  I’ve started using iThoughtsHD which is so intuitive and quick to use that real-time, live Mindmapping is now a viable option.

I’ve used it for several applications recently, in workshops:

  • Building a project’s Work Breakdown Structure
  • Capturing a SWOT analysis
  • Capturing an Action Plan at the end of a workshop

It’s brilliant to be able to have the workshop outputs in electronic form to share immediately the workshop has finished.

I’d already abandoned yellow sticky “Post-Its” for process mapping (I use Nimbus Control instead) and I think I might be on the verge of eliminating them from more workshop situations.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Connect with Ian Seath

Find us on Facebook Improvement Skills Consulting Ltd. on LinkedIn Follow IanJSeath on Twitter

Archives

Copyright Notice

© Improvement Skills Consulting Ltd. and Ian Seath, 2007-17. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Improvement Skills Consulting Ltd. and Ian Seath with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
